Saturday Stories

How is Saturday almost over already? I need another one. My task list is so long, and the days are so short. I have tried to shift some of the housework to other days – and to other people – younger, smaller people – but still…the Saturday list is unconquerable. And I have no patience. I look around and want it all done NOW. Why haven’t we organized the basement yet? The garage? Why isn’t anything hung on the walls? Why does the bathroom trash look like a carefully orchestrated game of tissue Jenga is being played against the corner wall?

But, alas, all those things did not get taken care of today. I did go to the commissary. In Pensacola if I had to go on Saturday I tried to get there when it opened because after about 9:00 it would be slammed all day. Lines back to the frozen section. This morning the parking lot looked like this at 9:30.

I can’t say I mind!

After that I attended a webinar for the Pillar Book Club. I joined Pillar in great excitement at the beginning of the year, but it’s been a bit of a disappointment. We all read a book, and then there’s a webinar once a month. But instead of discussion the leader gives a lecture. Which is not as engaging as I’d hoped.  He could learn a thing or two from the Close Reads podcast, which is one of my favorite things in life right now.  I mean, they came out with mugs and I bought one even though it cost about 4 times as much as I’d normally pay for a mug.

Today was also Fix the Bad Haircut Day. Three cheers for that! I googled “curly hair” and the name of my city, looked at a few reviews, and made an appointment.  I got a Deva Curl Cut (a dry cut, Jen!) which fixed the shape of my hair, plus they sold me some products. I was grateful and helpless.

The weather has turned gorgeous and the kids – two of them, anyway – have played outside much of the day. Wayne is working on building shelves in the garage, so I guess progress is being made on that front.

I met our next door neighbor tonight.  He was in his backyard with his daughter, and Miley was barking at them through the open window. I let it go a little while, because honestly, she’s a dog and dogs bark, but then I went to get her to stop. And he called to me through the window! “She’s not going to bark at me in my own yard is she? I don’t want to feel like an intruder in my own yard.”

Dude I’m sorry, and I’ll try to keep her from barking, but seriously, how much nerve do you have to have to chastise a neighbor that you haven’t even met yet through her open window because of what a dog is doing inside her own house?

Prediction: He is not going to be my favorite neighbor.

Have a lovely Saturday evening. May your list be short and your neighbors chill.

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Saturday Stories

  1. shirley wilmoth says:

    My list if always long and I have quite a fondness for Saturdays though I’m sure they are too short. My neighbor is always sloppy and of late has gotten much worse so that I have called the Health Department so he is not speaking……through a window or not. Thanks for blogging. One of these days I will get started. Have a good night.

  2. Rebecca says:

    Tissue jenga! That is awesome! Close Reads is one of my favorite things right now, too. I even enjoy listening to them talk about O’Connor, whom have no intention to read! And I felt the same way about yesterday. I had so much moving-related stuff to do, but I didn’t do any of it. Instead, I took the boys to get their hair cut and made a cheesecake.

  3. Robyn says:

    No pics of the updated haircut? The neighbor has no chill. It’s a dog. And she’ll get used to seeing him. Geez.

Leave a Reply

