To Conference or Not to Conference

Apparently it’s homeschool conference season. Everyone is going to one or planning one. I’ve been reading about the options and considering pros and cons.

There’s the big GHC conference in Cincinnati next month.  Because it’s so big, the registration is very reasonable.  At least one online friend will be there, and it would be great fun to meet her and get to chat in person. They have a classical track of speakers which will be fantastic, no doubt. And Andrew Peterson in concert! Tempting.

But, I’m not very good at social things, and I don’t need homeschool ideas or new curriculum. The opposite, in fact. The last thing I need is more possibilities and ideas in my head, tempting me in their shiny newness and distracting me from what I know I need to do.

Plus, crowds are not for me.  I inevitably get overwhelmed and find a quiet place to hide. In which case, why not just buy the recordings of the talks I wanted to hear and skip the conference?

Circe is doing a regional conference in Florida (Florida! Where it’s warm!) in May.  The topic is The Seven Liberal Arts. It looks great, but it’s priced pretty high for a day and a half. I love Circe, but their conference prices always shock me.

Plus, crowds.

Last summer I went to the Memoria Press conference in Louisville.  I did that thing where I get overwhelmed and insecure and hide, so I didn’t get as much out of it as I probably could have, had I…you know…talked to people.  It’s definitely a smaller conference, so I’ve thought a little about going back this summer, but only about half of our curriculum is MP at this point.

So. I think the answer’s clear: no conferences for me.

Perhaps instead a weekend at a pretty, peaceful B&B. Alone. Time away, no crowds, stacks of books, no responsibility. Just the thing for a worn out mama.

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to To Conference or Not to Conference

  1. maryswanbell says:

    That last paragraph? Sounds amazing 😊

  2. shirley wilmoth says:

    I think you’ve made your decision. You can start deciding which books to take.

  3. Rebecca says:

    I am so like you! I have never wanted to go to a big conference for anything, because there would probably be other people there. But oh, a quiet weekend of reading sounds lovely.

Leave a Reply

