What I Read in March

The Scarlet Pimpernel – I heard someone mention this book and impulsively decided to read it. I enjoyed it, though the twists/surprises were fairly obvious.

A Hobbit, a Wardrobe, and a Great War: How J.R.R. Tolkien and C.S. Lewis Rediscovered Faith, Friendship, and Heroism in the Cataclysm of 1914-18 – Eh. It was interesting in places and repetitive in others. Perhaps there’s not as much to say about the connection between the war and their books as the author hoped. 

The Silver Branch – The next book in the Sutcliff trilogy I started in February. Pretty good.

The Good Master – I’m trying to read some of the children’s fiction on my shelves that I’ve never read.  This was one.  It was sweet and light and funny.

The Little White Horse – I picked this up at the library, hoping to convince one of my girls to read it. No luck there, but I grabbed it for an easy before-bed read and enjoyed it. Some fairy tale elements, a little love story, sweet.

Tremendous Trifles – This is a collection of short essays by Chesterton. Some are fantastic, some I honestly didn’t understand. I read this for the Pillar Book Club. I wish I could say the discussion shed some light on a few of the harder to understand chapters, but alas. The leader just gave a lecture, a general overview of Chesterton and his life.  This was my first Chesterton; definitely will be reading more.

The Close Reads Podcast folks have been reading short stories by Flannery O’Connor this month. I had never attempted O’Connor, knowing her reputation. I read four short stories: Everything That Rises Must Converge, Greenleaf, A View of the Woods, and The Enduring Chill.  It’s safe to say that I am not a fan. Listening to the podcast discussion has helped me to appreciate her work, but I do not enjoy it and I don’t plan to read the rest of the stories they have scheduled for this series.

In the Shakespeare reading for this month:

Richard III – I remember that I liked this better than the Henry VI trilogy. Do I remember why? No, I do not.

King Edward III – Experts dispute whether this was written by Shakespeare, and Folger’s doesn’t even have an edition, so I read it straight from my complete works volume. No notes.  I’m getting used to Shakespeare though, so I think I understood most of it.  Yay!

The Comedy of Errors – This I had read before. Lots of silliness. I enjoy all the word play.

Love’s Labor’s Lost – I like this one, too. I seem to prefer the comedies. No surprise there.

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What I Read in March

  1. jenhamrick says:

    I definitely thought Flannery O’Connor was a man! Oops! Thankfully it’s never come up in conversation.
    Pimpernel is one I enjoyed in high school and want to re-read at some point.
    I don’t always comment but I love that you’re blogging again!

    • waymel says:

      I learned on the podcast that her name was Mary O’Connor, and she was Irish-Catholic, but she didn’t want to be known as a Catholic writer so she went by her middle name, Flannery.

  2. shirley wilmoth says:

    wow you have read a lot. You are amazing. I knew that for some reason I had fallen behind on reading in the last few weeks and now I am sure of it. I appreciate that you are honest about your appraisals.

    • waymel says:

      I feel like I read less this month. But last time I wrote a “What I Read” post it covered 2 months. Also, after I published it I realized that I hadn’t included anything I’ve read to/with the kids!

  3. Rebecca says:

    I continue to be impressed by your reading accomplishments!

Leave a Reply

