My History as a Quitter

One of the enjoyable features of Facebook is the ability to look back and see what you wrote in the past. Yes, it can be fun (and heartbreaking) to see your children all tiny and sweet, but did you know you can also look back at old posts and mock yourself?

I present for your amusement (and mine): Melanie tries to quit Diet Coke. Repeatedly. And these are just the times I wrote about it on Facebook…

October 26, 2010: Just drank my last Diet Coke. At least that’s the plan…

November 10, 2010: Having conquered my addiction to diet coke, I now turn my attentions to my sugar addiction. [I may have spoken a wee bit too soon.]

March 5, 2011: I decided to give up giving up Diet Coke.

March 1, 2012: Today, I’m giving up Diet Coke. Yes, again.

March 2, 2012: Day 2. Diet Coke-free so far, but I was thiiis close to giving in at lunch. I think I need to go to a meeting.

January 30, 2013: Hi, my name is Melanie and I’m a diet coke addict. It’s been 4 days since my last drink.

November 26, 2013: I quit diet coke and have been drinking crystal light – thinking about cutting aspartame though. [When I eventually quit drinking Crystal Light, the headaches were awful. Horrible. Skull-splitting. Bad enough to keep me from ever drinking it again. Which is too bad, because it was delicious.]

August 29, 2015: Obviously the reason I have not previously been able to quit diet coke and become a tea drinker is that I didn’t have a cute red tea kettle. Problem solved.

I’m a mess, y’all! I’m a terrible quitter!

But, um, also?

Um. I quit Diet Coke.

Again.

I’ve made it 23 out of the last 27 days, so…fingers crossed! 800 millionth time is the charm!

 

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My History as a Quitter

  1. jenhamrick says:

    It’s SO HARD, isn’t it?

  2. Robyn says:

    Lol — 23 out of 27 is amazing!

  3. maryswanbell says:

    OH MY GOSH, ME TOO!! Not diet coke, but either quitting or sticking with anything–not good. I agree with Robyn, though, 23 out of 27 is amazing and those four days you were back on were probably the ones you wrote about in the last post. And it’s a good thing that diet coke was your only vice then ;)!

  4. Rebecca says:

    Maybe this just proves that it is definitely something you want to quit! And now you have😀

Leave a Reply

