My Sunday Best

Most Sundays I intend to get a picture of us so I can participate in this link up, but for whatever reason it never happens.

A couple of Sundays I did take a picture of the kids playing in the church yard after service, because I love that they do that. Most people stick around after service and visit; the kids bring sports paraphernalia and play outside.  Once, a few weeks ago, a couple of people rode by on horses and stopped to let the kids pet them. (They pet the horses, not the people. Just to be clear.)

And even today I didn’t get a full picture of me or my people, but I can show you the most interesting part of my outfit: my broken shoe.

Obviously I didn’t realize that these shoes were completely falling apart until we were in church. And that wouldn’t even have been such a big deal, except that I had to play two songs on the piano, and sing two songs. The piano is in the front of the sanctuary, and the other musicians that I sang with were in the back. So I walked to the piano, played the first song, then walked to the back of the sanctuary. Thwap, thwap, thwap, went my shoes on the wood floor.

After the song, I returned to the front to sit with my family for the sermon. Thwap, thwap, thwap.  After the sermon, back to the piano with my noisy, dangerous shoes. Then, again, around to the back. I was watching my feet like a toddler learning to walk, afraid I would trip over the silly things and fall on my face!

As soon as service was over, I gave up and took them off.

You can read about people who didn’t wear broken shoes to church at Rosie’s My Sunday Best link up!

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Sunday Best

  1. shirley wilmoth says:

    and did you stay to visit on the lawn and talk to people barefoot?

  2. Alicia @ Sweeping Up Joy says:

    Thwap, thwap! Too funny. 🙂 Sometimes I leave the house in such a rush, I’m afraid I’ll look down and see two different shoes.

  3. Anni H. says:

    This was great! We all have those wardrobe malfunction moments… at least, I know I do, and I’m so glad to hear I am not alone! I, too, would have taken them off right after the service.

    And, this reminds me… I need to seriously be searching for new flats to wear, since my non-black ones have frayed apart at the seams!

    Thanks for that reminder… 😉

  4. Robyn says:

    You have horses at your church?!?

  5. Rebecca says:

    Oh, funny! It’s nice that your church is so sociable!

  6. Rosie says:

    Your shoe story totally made me chuckle 😂 I’ve not had issues with broken shoes at church, but I’ve accidentally worn shoes with noisy heels, which is AWFULLY obvious when making the walk of shame with toddlers multiple times during Mass 😉

Leave a Reply

