What I Read in April / May

Some books about food, as I (once again) thought about cleaning up my diet:

100 Days of Real Food  – Good ideas about eating foods with fewer ingredients, influenced heavily by Michael Pollan.

The Case Against Sugar – Gary Taubes is such a good writer.  He is so convincing! At first I wanted to throw out anything with sugar lest we be poisoned from its toxicity. But upon further reflection, I just don’t know. Maybe it’s more complicated than that.  We should probably all eat less sugar. But perhaps it’s not to blame for all the world’s woes.

The Obesity Code – More low carb dogma. I was on a roll.

Nourishing Traditions – Fascinating but also strange. Foods made from scratch at home are better for you than processed foods with unpronounceable ingredients? Yes, absolutely, I am with you.  It’s also necessary to soak your grains before cooking/baking them? Hm, I’m not sure. We should eat bone broth and also animal brains? Now you’ve lost me.

I also skimmed/read Grain Brain and The Primal Blueprint, but didn’t “count” them on Goodreads because I didn’t truly read them and I’m an honest girl. 😉  I tried to “go primal” but then I remembered…I ate low carb/keto for two years and didn’t lose any weight to speak of. Also, I love toast. Like, a lot. So I went back to The Every Other Day Diet. Thus the obsessive food reading cycle ends once again.

While Close Reads was continuing with Flannery O’Connor without me, I re-read Jayber Crow and listened to the older podcast series on it. I love the book, even though I don’t quite buy in to the whole “pretend marriage” thing. A pretend marriage seems more like a crush to me, and therefore it’s hard to take it seriously.

The Benedict Option – Not as good as I’d hoped, but honestly that might be because Out of the Ashes said much of the same thing but said it better.  I like Dreher, but I just didn’t think the book held together well. The parts describing life in the monastery were the most helpful to me.

A Mother’s Rule of Life – This book about how a mother might best order her days according to her various callings was recommended on a homeschooling forum. You know I’m always up for a book about how to better schedule/organize/prioritize my time.  There were some weird parts in her story, and the schedule ideas were basically from Managers of their Homes, but there were some good ideas towards the end.

The Great Gatsby – I’d read this a few years ago, but re-read it for a Center for Lit discussion.

Leave it to Psmith – A re-read from my shelves. I adore Wodehouse.

Anne of Windy Poplars – I hadn’t read this in years and years. I find older Anne to be much more likable than younger Anne, who’s too dreamy for my realistic self.  And I know I didn’t get all the literary references when I was younger! I felt smart for getting most of them this time. 🙂

Shakespeare (continuing to follow the plan):

King John

The Merchant of Venice

Romeo and Juliet

Henry IV Part 1

To/With Ben:

Farmer Boy – He enjoyed Little House in the Big Woods so much that I wanted to dive into the next book in the series, so I read this to him. Later, I remembered that it’s in the 3rd grade literature set – in other words, he’s supposed to read it next year!  Oops.  He loved all the food descriptions and was fascinated by how often Almanzo got to skip school to do things with his dad on the farm.

Mr. Popper’s Penguins – Okay, so we may have pushed through some of the 2nd grade literature at a faster pace (sometimes I get tired of workbook questions), so I just picked something for him to read to me after we completed the books that were scheduled for the year.  Guess what? This is also in the 3rd grade literature set. Do I know how to plan or what?  We may be doing something different for 3rd grade literature.  (More on that soon.)

You can follow me on Goodreads and see the (oh dear) 11 books I’m currently reading. What have you been reading?

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What I Read in April / May

  1. shirley wilmoth says:

    As always your list inspires. By the way I had just reminded myself that you had recommended “the Benedict Option” a while ago. I may still look at it. Going back to Mid March I read, for fun “Dog Gone, Back Soon”…..pretty good for light reading about avet.. I followed that with a serious ” A Travel Guide to Life- Transforming self from Head to Soul”. It was “ok”…some good ideas but not a lot new. Looking for more serious along that line I read ” The Cruicified Life” by A.W. Tozer. Very good. You and Rebecca both recommended “Excellent Women” by Barbara Pym and I loved it. Lastly is “Dinner with the Smileys” by Sarah Smiley and it was very enjoyable. The husband/father is in the Navy and is deployed and so weekly the family has a guest come and sit in his dinner seat at the table. Ive recently skimmed about Eating Clean and about Sugar Busting and Yoga for women in Midlife and Beyond. hm . I am currently reading “For Love of Country” ….stories of heroism and sacrifice….. and “Splashdown” by Dave Cole which is not what I thought I ordered (: and “whatever Happened to Worship” for my next A.W. Tozer. so….some day I’ll get my Good Reads current but for now you know what I’m reading.

  2. jenhamrick says:

    Well, you know what I’m reading. The Turn of the Screw. Just finished Approval Junkie by Faith Salie. Still working our way through A Series of Unfortunate Events. 🙂

  3. Rebecca says:

    Sheesh! Seriously impressive reading! I’m reading Brideshead. Are you?

  4. I seldom say anything nice about the French (I am one) but they live under a single tenet: “What am I putting into my gullet?” The rest of the world seems to live on raw calories, survival food, that will put you ten paces ahead of a rival tribe, but won’t guaranty good health or quality of life. (Of course, drinking alcohol and smoking cigarettes are also a favorite French pastime.)

    I like the fact that you question what you’re eating — for taste and nourishment.

Leave a Reply

