Pulling Weeds

I never work outside.

Maybe it’s the bad childhood memories. My dad made us help with yard work and he wasn’t exactly pleasant about it.

Maybe it’s the dirt. I’m not a fan of dirt. Or bugs.

Whatever the reason, I’m not one of those women who mows the lawn and we have never had much in the way of landscaping, so I just don’t work outside.

But various flowers have come up in our new yard, planted by the previous owner, and Wayne has moved a few things around in an attempt to clean it up a little. Our neighbors have nice landscaping and we want our yard to look attractive, too.  Recently I noticed an area with lots of weeds and made a mental note : the next kid who sasses me or says they’re bored will be sent out for weed duty, stat!

This morning Ben was bored, so I suggested weeding. He shocked me by agreeing to give it a try! He quickly lost interest, though, and later this afternoon I decided to finish the job myself.

Me, volunteering for yard work.

I thought how impressed Wayne would be. I was working outside! Getting dirty! Hanging out with spiders and worms and beetles, oh my!

I worked out there for an hour or so, until my cramped back and legs could take no more. I had gotten almost all the weeds.  I was so proud.

Wayne came home from work.

“Did you see what I did?” I asked excitedly.  He hadn’t noticed. I pointed out the area.

“I pulled the weeds! I did it myself!”

He peered out the window.

“Right there? I planted that. That was supposed to be the wildflower area.”

I pulled the things he planted.

In my defense, they looked bad.

Nonetheless.

I am never doing yard work again.

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pulling Weeds

  1. shirley wilmoth says:

    I don’t know how Wayne feels about it but this is really funny! sorry for the loss of the wild flowers but it is a funny story. Hope you are not sore from all the weeding and hope the new wildflower plants are not too costly.

    • waymel says:

      Oh you know Wayne. He didn’t care. He’d actually bought the seeds quite awhile ago, in FL, and thought he’d plant them and see what happened.

  2. Robyn says:

    Ha ha that made me laugh out loud. I used to really dislike yard work, probably for the same bad childhood memories, but have had to embrace it in my singlehood and actually don’t mind it now. It helps to put on some music and sing. I bet your neighbors would love it!

  3. maryswanbell says:

    I laughed so hard reading this and then read it to my husband who laughed also, but in a, “Yeah, I could totally imagine you doing that” way.

  4. Rebecca says:

    I sympathize! My neighbor, who is in her eighties, probably, is out working in her yard for hours every day that it is nice! I slink guiltily from my car to the house just knowing that she must be mentally cursing me for my laziness and ineptitude. Our house is surrounded by a leafy border of weeds. I think. But you know, I’m not even sure. When I finally met the neighbor, I immediately apologized for our yard. “I just don’t know what to do!” I said helplessly. Every day I look out and the weeds reproach me. So I admire you for doing something, even the wrong thing!

Leave a Reply

