The Time I Got Kicked Out of Book Club

I just got kicked out of a book club.

I joined the Pillar Book Club at the beginning of the year.  Have you ever thought something would be good because it was expensive? That’s what happened to me.

Long story short, I’ve been disappointed in the membership. The lectures are boring, there have been numerous technical problems, and there’s very little interaction between the members, both between and during the webinars. Though the leader, let’s call him B, claims that members receive six classic books, unavailable anywhere else, he just means his press is going to reprint six classic books so that particular printing is only available to members.  One of the books we read, Tremendous Trifles, is actually free for Kindle. So the special books are not really a selling point either.

I was disappointed, but I shouldn’t have fallen for the “it must be good because I paid $100 for it” thing.  My fault. I figured if he ever sent out a survey I’d have a chance to voice my opinion.

Yesterday B posted links to previous Pillar Club webinars on Facebook.  I was surprised; I thought the main advantage of joining this club was to have access to these webinars. I made a brief comment stating that it seemed unfair to make them publicly accessible when members had paid for access to them.

My comment was deleted. B emailed me and gave me the sales pitch listing all the many wonderful benefits of Pillar Book Club membership and declaring his willingness to hear any further concerns that I had. So I politely told him my concerns, in a brief and carefully written paragraph.  He replied, “I have find it neither helpful nor kind to offer someone only your interpretation of the problems without offering solutions.”

Dude, I’m not your employee. It’s not my job to fix the deficiencies in your product.  I’m a customer.  And the customer deserves a chance to tell you how you’re doing, especially after you ask!  You could at least receive feedback without pouting.

He offered to 1. refund my money, or 2. schedule a phone call with me. Nice try, man.  I have given all the feedback I have to give.  I made a quick reply to let him know that I did not require a refund but that I appreciated the offer.

His response?

“Melanie, your membership cost has been fully refunded. Thank you.”

Y’all! I got kicked out of a book club!  Me! Miss Straight-Laced-Follow-All-The-Rules-Book-Nerd!

This is like the time I got kicked out of the Christmas play.

Stay tuned. I’m sure to do something equally scandalous and rebellious in the next decade.

 

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Time I Got Kicked Out of Book Club

  1. Sounds like you had more patience with this imposter than he deserves. But like Groucho Marx you wouldn’t want to belong to a club that would have you as a member.

  2. Rebecca says:

    Sounds like a very sensitive book club leader! And I agree that it is not your job to offer solutions.

  3. Robyn says:

    LOL– it’s def not your job to offer solutions as the CUSTOMER! On top of that, he said he wanted your feedback. People are ridiculous. And you are indeed a rebel. Try to stay out of trouble now, ya hear?

    • waymel says:

      Right! He’s just mad that I called him out on his baloney. He tried to handle me with the guilt and the “do you want to schedule a phone call.” Haha, not falling for that!

Leave a Reply

