2017-2018 Homeschool Plans: Take Two

Never make your homeschool plans until AFTER you go to the conference.

I actually didn’t think I was going to be able to go to the Memoria Press conference until the last minute.

I went to a meeting about starting a classical co-op where a shockingly rude woman told me that my ideas were “really extreme” and “no one around here will want to do that” so then I decided I really, really needed to make it to the conference and spend some time with other extremists. 😉

The conference was wonderful and encouraging. And of course I left there with new plans for our school year.

My biggest take-away was STAY THE COURSE. Quit trying to change/add/substitute/tweak. Follow the plans. They are beautiful and good and well-thought-out and purposeful.

Also, if my ideas about education are extreme, I’m in good company.

For anyone who might be interested (Hi, Mom!), here are my new and improved staying-the-course plans (initial plans here):

Abby, 8th grade

Classical – The Book of the Ancient Romans / The Aeneid
Bible – The Story of Christianity
Math – Saxon Algebra 1/2
Writing – IEW at co-op
History – Story of the World 4
Literature – MP 8A set (Beowulf, Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, Henry V, Canterbury Tales)
French – with a French tutor
Grammar – Rod and Staff 8
Science – Apologia Physical Science at co-op

Changes: jumping into the 8A Classical, Christian, and Literature sets. Dialing back SOTW history; we’ll still read SOTW 4 to cover the time period, but do less outside reading than I initially planned.

Emma, 6th grade

Classical – Famous Men of the Middle Ages
Bible – MP Christian Studies III
Math – Rod and Staff 6
Writing – IEW at co-op
History – SOTW 2
Literature – MP American history set
Geography – MP Geography II
Latin – Second Form Latin
Spelling – Spelling Workout G
Grammar – English Grammar Recitation 3 / Core Skills Language Arts 6
Science – MP Trees/Biology

Changes: This is very nearly the 6th grade core. We’ll do Math and Grammar as scheduled in the lesson plans. MP Science. SOTW 2 will still be read but, like Abby, less outside reading than originally planned. Way less.  Maybe none. 🙂 MP sells optional American history literature sets, so we’ll use that for literature this year, since I still think it’s best for Emma to wait on the 7th grade literature.

Ben, 3rd grade

Bible – MP Christian Studies I
Classical – MP Greek Myths
Math – Rod and Staff 3
Writing – IEW All Things Fun and Fascinating
Grammar – English Grammar Recitation 1 / Core Skills Language Arts 3
Latin – Latina Christiana
Geography – MP States and Capitals; co-op U.S. geography
Handwriting – Zaner-Bloser
Spelling – Spelling Workout D
Science – MP Astronomy
Lit – MP 4M literature set

Changes: Math, Writing, Grammar, Science, Literature. I changed everything (except handwriting) to align with the 3A core.

Stay the course.

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2017-2018 Homeschool Plans: Take Two

  1. Your children will so benefit from your “extreme” teaching. I resist the urge to copy this all down since I like to know what they are all working on and I don’t have a printer. I’m so glad that you enjoyed the conference and found it profitable. Looking at Ben’s schedule and the first line as Christian Studies ( as the girls have also) reminds me of a conversation we had over dinner at my house. Ask Ben about Samson!

  2. Rebecca says:

    I’m glad you got to go to the conference! I still wish you could find some like-minded “extremists” nearby. Maybe you still will.

Leave a Reply

